Write Before Thinking

Icon

The Golden Hour

I’m blaming yesterday’s apathy on the time change. Yeah, it’s a lame excuse, but I’m okay with that. Anyway, one of my favorite sites, Dumb Little Man, conveniently had a post today called, “9 Ways to Jumpstart Your Writing Goal” and after reading it, I find myself much more inspired than I was yesterday (though you’d never know aftereading this post). And while I think all 9 tips are helpful, I was especially keen on tips #4, 6, and 8.

#4. Idea Lists. I carry a Moleskine with me pretty much everywhere I go and keep one on my nightstand. Though it never fails that the moment I forget it, I’m struck with some great idea.

#6. Quit Quitting. At least once per day I fall victim to some BS self-defeating thought. I hate that I do it and know that once I start writing, the words and ideas will flow. I’m the same way with going to the gym. I can name about 26 things I’d rather do, but know that I’ll feel great once my workout is over.

#8. Ideas, Not Grammar.  You grammar Nazis who read this obviously know I subscribe to this philosophy. Through school, I could tell you exactly what grade I’d get for my writing assignments. “C” for mechanics, “A” for content, “B” overall. I know that you have to know the rules before you break them, but there are already too many things I get hung up on when writing. Besides, name anything you’ve ever enjoyed reading and ask yourself if you liked it for the great story and brilliant ideas, or the author’s powerful command of grammar.

Again, every tip is beneficial in some way. But for me, the more tips and rules I try to adhere to, the more I end up ignoring. That’s when yesterday’s happen.

Filed under: Why I Write, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Liberal Hippy says:

    Please try to use fewer contractions, as they are distracting, unnecessary and have no place in well-written literature.

  2. peotrick says:

    that’s assuming that this is well-written.

Leave a Reply

