Write Before Thinking

Icon

A list of authors whose work I dig

Sometimes I feel like a chameleon.  Jesus, what a horrible opener that was. What I’m trying to say is that there are a handful of authors whose work I’m inspired by. Often, I find I mimick their style if I’m reading one of their books.

In no particular order, they are:

Chuck Palahniuk. Fight Club was great. Survivor was awesome. But it was Invisible Monsters that inspired me to use experimental sentence structures.

Kurt Vonnegut. A cliche, I know. But he was the one who showed me how to properly use humor in telling a story.

Christopher Moore. One of only a few authors who can make me laugh out loud.

Scott Smith. If there is one book you should read out loud, The Ruins, is it. Not only is it one of the most suspenseful books you’ll ever read, it’s also one of the most fluid. That it’s structured as one continuous chapter is also pretty cool.

Alexandre Dumas. Never will I be able to construct a story as rich and complex as The Count of Monte Cristo. Though maybe someday I’ll come close.

Bret Easton Ellis. Yes, his stuff is insane and over-the-top. But that’s what makes it so cool. He completely ignores the line but does so with a point. Not an easy feat.

Franklin W. Dixon. The Hardy Boys got me reading. Reading got me writing. What more can I say?

Filed under: Uncategorized, Why I Write, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

